The EYFS framework

Olive Shapley Playgroup Didsbury Manchester

We offer a wide range of activities, which we deliver through a structured timetable which covers the areas of learning specified by the Department of Education.  The Department stipulates that there are seven areas of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings. All seven areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.

The Department says there are three areas which are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three prime areas, which we support, are:
• communication and language
• physical development
• personal, social and emotional development.
We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:
• literacy
• mathematics
• understanding the world
• expressive arts and design.